Are they out there?

I left the camera in place for another two weeks but still no polecat sightings……

I’m still hunting for the elusive polecat.  My camera was again sited in my neighbour’s field but I moved it to a new location.  This time I placed the camera alongside a mature hedge not far from the area where the polecats were seen.  The polecat’s prey of choice is the rabbit.  So I selected a location with lots of rabbit holes.

Are they out there?  I left the camera in place for another two weeks but still no polecat sightings.  So who knows.  There were lots of images of rabbits, foxes, badgers and songbirds but none of a polecat.  The most interesting footage I captured on this occasion was of a family of crows which happened to be foraging along the hedgerow.  I have captured crows on the camera before but not in a family group.

So although I’m capturing some interesting wildlife behaviour I still have not proven whether there are polecats in the area.  I think I’ll move the camera back to my garden and see if they’re around that area.

Leave a Reply

